The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Harmonics Problem.
Old 15th May 2008
Gear Head

Harmonics Problem.

Finished my attic studio this year and i'm having one issue.

I killed all the first reflections and did extensive bass trapping (grey area is 703 & 705 FSK bass traping and panels, the wall with the window behind the desk has 8" behind its 703).

the ceiling is at 8'

anyway, when listening to sweeping sine wave, around 240hz on up past 400hz i get a good bit of harmonic "build up" (i'm guessing modal stuff)(i'm new to acoustics but have been reading).

moving myself or speakers around the room helps a little but i'm guessing i'm gonna have to treat more.

the wall with the door is all built in bookcases (full). i was hoping for a little diffusion. the door has a panel on it.

so do i need to treat more of the end i'm sitting in, or more of the end behind me.

i'd love to not deaden the room too much...

thanks for any help in advance.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Picture 3.jpg (57.6 KB, 41 views)
Old 15th May 2008
JWL
Lives for gear

You need more bass trapping. The large bass traps are good, but bass trapping is as much about coverage area. Put some more panels across the corners of the room, you have a bunch of corners.

If you don't want to over-deaden the room, then cover the panels with a thin but stiff layer, ie, FRK or even thin cardboard. That'll help absorb more bass, and restore some reflectivity to the high end.
Old 15th May 2008
Lives for gear

I agree with jwl...more bass trapping is required. I'm also seeing the possibility of some real issues n the back part of the room with the untreated walls aimed right into the floor. Maybe not such a huge problem at the listening position, but it would be a big problem for tracking.