The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Corner desk and limited space. Can I use monitors, or should I opt for headphones? Pics included
Old 11th September 2020
Here for the gear

Corner desk and limited space. Can I use monitors, or should I opt for headphones? Pics included

Greetings, everyone! I'm pretty new to mixing and acoustics, and I'm wondering if my situation is salvageable.

Goal: Use studio monitors (2x Kali LP6s to mix symphonic, hip-hop, electronic, and potentially metal tracks).

My setup, as I've read elsewhere, is not ideal. I'm wondering if there's anything I can do in terms of acoustic treatment and placement to make mixing on monitors viable, or if I should just opt for headphones (looking at the Sennheiser 6xx).

Currently, my plan is to put 1 speaker(i can use stands or the desk itself, and will be using isolation pads) to each side of my computer monitors, and throw up some porous bass traps and acoustic foam throughout my room (still not entirely sure where). This would make it so the monitor on my right is about 15 inches from the wall, and the monitor on my left has a few feet of room behind it. I can get pretty close to an equilateral triangle by angling the speakers, and moving my chair back a little bit, but understand that being so close to a wall isn't great.

I'm also kind of curious if my book shelf will act as a corner sort of half-corner in terms of acoustics, as it would be nearly dead center of the back of my monitors with my current placement. Probably getting ahead of myself.

So yeah, what do y'all think? Can I make this work with minor tweaks or treatment, or should I scrap it all and go on the path of open-back headphones? If I can make monitors work, what do you recommend doing in terms of placement and treatment?

Apologies if I missed any pertinent information. Feel free to AMA!

Thank you for your time and insights.
Attached Thumbnails