The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Some suggestions for a difficult room
Old 4th August 2020
Here for the gear

Some suggestions for a difficult room

Hello!

I have this room available to set up my home studio. It is rather tiny and less than ideal, but I'm sure it's possible to improve it. See SketchUp pictures and dimensions below.

https://imgur.com/a/UIQyH98

(Sorry, I am no expert with SketchUp, hopefully it all makes sense).

How does it sound right now?

To no surprise, the room is very reflective despite the few instruments and furniture in there (I haven't drawn them all). What's most obvious is that there's a lot of flutter, a bit similar to when you are into an empty square room. It's not as bad as that if I were to clap my hands, I would hear a buzz, but it's not too far from being the case. The wall are plastered and the floor is wooden. I have a thin carpet that covers about 70% of the floor's surface.
I did run a sweep in the low end and to no surprise here again, lots of amplitude difference in my mixing position which is at 100cm l x 110cm w (not exactly the center of the room, but not exactly 38 % either)

What is the room for?

I will use this room mostly to produce, play the piano and electric bass, as well as mix. I don't need the room to be perfect, as I have a studio near mine I use to polish up my mixes and/or master. But I do need the room to be as good as it's reasonable to get it so that my productions and mixes can translate fairly well, and so that my time in the real studio (costly) is minimized. Overall, I am looking for a dead end rather than a live end, there will be close to no live recording in this room.

Plan and budget

At the moment, here is my plan:

- Get two custom made rockwool bass traps from floor to ceiling for the corners around my desk.
- Get two custom made rockwool bass traps for back corners but only at the ceiling points.
- Absorber panels on the wall on the left where first reflections occur