The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Help - what materials to complete my studio door?
Old 25th June 2020
Help - what materials to complete my studio door?

Building a (very) small recording room off my master bedroom on a modest budget - it will only be for tracking guitars - probably 90% of the time acoustic, occasional vocals and if I can get it right, mixing recordings that may be full band, but not above 85db. Pretty light-duty, specialized recording room - no bass or drums, unless I'm playing that stuff via monitors as part of mixing. I'm really new to acoustics, though I've been reading what I can recently.

I'm working with limited flexibility on what I can do, given existing construction, and I started momentum on design & build before hearing of Rod G's book, which I've now read & I'm completely overwhelmed.

So, I'm going with a double-door assembly - one is a simple interior wood shaker door for aesthetics to me & wife's master bedroom (w/ consumer-grade weatherstripping) - behind that - my sound door. They'll be pretty close together - something around 3" apart. A 2-leaf system.

Sound door: 1 &3/4" solid core door - heavy duty jamb & hinges, Zero Int'l 770A seals w/ threshold & automatic door bottom.

Immediate question:
I need to determine thickness of door to choose hardware and so I need to make final decisions on materials. What material could I use to beef up my sound door a bit (on inside of studio), then finish with a material that will give me what I need for the frequencies I'll be generating in the room?

My door assembly can support weight up to 250 lbs, though I doubt I'll even need to go that massive. I'm not going full-on w/ the "super-doors" that Rod G recommends, as these are too heavy for my framing and will be more than I need in terms of isolation (no sheet lead). I've also read that super dense massive doors are best for low frequency (which isn't really an issue for me), but aren't as strong at mid / high frequency. True?