The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Room size/windows and door locations
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Room size/windows and door locations

Hi,

First, let me quickly introduce myself as it is relevant for this post. I'm a musician slowly switching to doing more production in my home studio (as opposite to being mostly a live musician), a classical guitar teacher, and a developer (I develop apps for musicians among other things).

What I usually do when working on musical projects is handling part of the recording (guitar and voice), the production and then working with a real audio engineer for the mixing part.

I have made a small home studio in my flat (as a tenant so with limited options), with acoustic panels and bass traps, and using Sonarworks Reference as a complementary tool. It works well enough.

I will soon have a house built, and I have the liberty to set the dimensions of what will be my next office space (well, in a range of dimensions at least, I am limited nevertheless). So time to take it up a notch!

The important thing is that I don't want a perfect control room:

- I'm using it as a musician for production so my needs are not as crucial as it can be for an audio engineer

- It will be my office also for developing software. Some weeks I'm doing 50 hours a week of software development: I need to have natural light coming in so the room is enjoyable, even if I know that windows are bad for control rooms.

... but nevertheless, I would like to treat the room, and doing what I can to make the room sound good and have not too much room mode problems.

Therefore, I have several questions:

- I did search for informations, and a commonly accepted good room size seems to be 17x23x10 (WxLxH, feets). If I convert to meters, rounding it up, it gives 5.19x7.02x3.05m. These dimensions are I think OK with the house building project. I have to check with the architect, but it seems doable. Is it good thinking to use these dimensions?