The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Please help this miserable square room dweller
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Please help this miserable square room dweller

I didn't want to post another thread related to this problem since there are so many but I just can't find a solution to a specific issue i have.

Long story short this is the only room i can use, building or throwing down walls or other extremely permanent stuff is not an option since i'll just be moving eventually. I'm an audio engineering student and moved recently, covid has me trapped in a square room and i need to mix and master stuff for my thesis project. It's a 4.68m x 4.68m square by 2.79m tall (15.35 x 15.35 ft by 9.15 ft tall) (blueprint in attachments)

I know it will never be fixed and I know i must use a lot of broadband absorption to get the closest with solving the problem.
My goal here is not to make a perfect studio room but just to have a decent room to outlive university, to have a decent reference while mixing and hopefully even mastering and if i make my room nice for audio production for the remaining time i live here that's a great plus too.

About placement: I used the cardas recommendation for ISBR handling in square rooms
http://www.cardas.com/room_setup_hor...and_square.php

I also set my mixing triangle using the 39% Y axis listening position suggested by a lot of people and i set my triangle 1.2 meters or 4 ft long on each side.

I chose my front wall as the one with the window because i saw that being recommended, although it's a sealed window and has only a small vent to let air in on the bottom, it does have a dense vinyl curtain and i plan on getting an acoustic or at least heavy one.

I sometimes let the doors open and i think it helps with mode buildups is that a good idea? my bathroom is made of granite/quartzesque materials (can't remember the exact name)