The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
DRUM STUDIO- in a school bus!! Expert help needed!
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

DRUM STUDIO- in a school bus!! Expert help needed!

Hey all! I’m an amateur builder embarking on a really exciting drum studio build for a school bus. I’ve been doing some research on the triple leaf effect, and I’ve run into a bit of an issue with my original plan. Hoping to get some expert advice on this one.

So right now I have the following already in the bus:

1. 2 in thick layer of R-13 rigid foam insulation glued directly to outer (metal) shell of bus with small wood panels to create a 1/2 air gap. (For radiant barrier)

2. Next, I screwed wood studs to the existing metal studs to get the correct spacing and screwed plywood sheeting to that. (Flush with the foam insulation)

*current state of studio*
3. (Pic included) Then, I screwed 1 in wood studs (24” apart) to the plywood and used 1 in thick cellulose soundproof insulation between the studs.

I was planning on putting up a layer of 1 LB MLV, then a layer of 5/8 drywall, decoupling it with green glue whisper clips and 7/8 hat channels, and then a final layer of 5/8 drywall with acoustical foam and bass traps on the inside.

Perhaps overkill, but I’m trying to create a highly effective soundproof space, which is of course hard to do with drums.

After reading about the triple leaf effect, I’m worried that decoupling the drywall will be useless, because of the 1/2 air gap I already created for the radiant barrier.

Essentially, I’m looking for a new plan. What do you guys think would be most effective?

Currently I’ve got about 150 sq feet of MLV, enough drywall to do a double layer in the whole studio, and a lot of green glue.

I’m also looking for a soundproofing solution for the ceiling. I was planning on doing a double layer of MLV on the ceiling since it’s curved and also has a radiant barrier air gap. I’m also thinking about headspace. The ceiling is about 6’1 and I’m 6’0.