The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Improving the acoustics of a semi-open control room (REW measurements included)
Old 1 week ago
Gear Addict

Advice wanted for a semi-open control room (REW measurements included)

Hi all! Major thanks to all of the talented sounders who've generously shared their knowledge. I've been working on my control room for several months but feel now that I've hot a wall. I'm hoping some of you will have insights or suggestions as I try to take things even further. I'd love a second opinion about how my measurements are looking and perhaps some tips on how to combat the remaining issues.

a few details about the room (see the attached photos): Given It's the front room of my home, I'm locked into a few features that may not be ideal. One is that half of the back wall is opened into a foyer/front room. Another is that the left wall is windows so I can't hang panels there.

Dimensions:
15’1” deep (with an extra 8' of foyer on the back-right side)
11’7” wide
8’3” high

I've already done a great deal of testing and invested in lots of G.I.K. products. The current panelling is as follows:

-soffit traps with "Range Limiters" on both front wall to wall corners
-2 Monster bass traps as ceiling clouds
-monster bass traps with range limiters on back left wall to wall corner
-Monster bass trap with scatter plat on back wall
-Monster bass trap with scatter plate straddling back wall to ceiling corner
-4" panels straddling both side wall-to-ceiling corners
-4 2" panels along right wall
-24" X 24" Monster bass trap straddling back right ceiling corner.
-a few "skinny" monster traps supplementing things.

As for my testing, these are some of my major conclusions:

-With the Amphion One18s that I'm using, SBIR was VERY sever with speakers on my desk. So I had to get them as close to the front wall as physically possible. This made an enormous improvement to the low end, vastly more than all of my treatment combined.