The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Acoustic Treatment mixing/production room
Old 5 days ago
Here for the gear
Acoustic Treatment mixing/production room

Hello everybody. After a bit of researching I'm starting to finally build acoustic treatment for my room. As I state in the title I'm gonna use this space mainly for mixing and some music production. I don't want to reach professional quality acoustic, but I need an environment where I can work, and trust what I'm hearing.

The size of the room is I suppose a good starting point, symmetry is definitely a problem. The height is 10'8", so I have room for treatment on the ceiling as well.

I have some measurements with the room empty, only my two speakers (Adam A5X) and down below is the .mdat file, if you want to have a look yourself. I positioned the speakers on the "left wall" spaced equally from each side walls.

Something like this:

I'm a beginner, so reading data out of REW is not so easy for me. What I can state looking at the results is that the frequency responce of each speaker is a bit different, as well as the ETC, because of non-symmetry.
The waterfall diagram is different as well, and there are noticeable room modes at 60hz 110hz and 160hz.

The only idea I have for achieving symmetry (front wall/ side walls at least) is to build a new wall in front of the existing one like this:

I would do this only if it's worth it, because is gonna cost me some money. Another Idea I had is to achieve symmetry with first reflection point panels like this:

(credits for the last pic to @ Brian M. Boykin )

I know I'll need bass traps as well, and I'm thinking on how to go about that especially in the window corner. I sketch up something, I'll start with the superchunk today.

Let me know what you guys think about this, if you have any advice I will appreciate it!
Attached Files
File Type: mdat Down Studio.mdat (10.44 MB, 5 views)
Old 5 days ago
Lives for gear