The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Isolating this Room -Construction Advice
Old 8th November 2019
Here for the gear

Isolating this Room -Construction Advice

Hey y'all. Just got an offer for a space here in Brooklyn that is available to rent. I'm an electronic producer in need of an isolated room, and my options in New York are rather limited. Commercial space here that is available for small studio space is hard to come by. What's available at 200sf is usually within art studio/production complexes, which is where I've found myself for the past two years. I found a new space, but it's next to few a hip hop producers who output quite a lot of sub bass. I love the room, and it's perfect for the amount of gear I have. But as it is, it won't be isolated from the sub bass, and that will be an issue for me in terms of mixing and general production.

I'm interested in doing a build out, and the building has said I can do so. The only thing they won't let me do is floating concrete. So, I'm wondering how best to go about this to get as much isolation as possible.

Images of the room as-is are attached.

Currently, the room has 4 walls with 16 inch steel studs, Rockwool SAFE N SOUND insulation, and a layer of sheetrock all around. I've been reading Rod Gervais' book, and I'm considering the 57 or 63 STC method of wall construction.

For walls and ceiling, I am considering standard 16 inch studs with rockwool and 2 layers of drywall/sheetrock. For the drywall/sheetrock, I'm also considering resilient channel assemblies. Would do an air gap of about 2-4 inches between the existing and new wall.

In terms of the flooring, I'm considering framing a floor out over top mass loaded vinyl or similar, with Rockwool insulation within and plywood on top, then more MLV, then laminate or something similar.

My questions are:

1. Will this method block out the sub bass that is bothersome to this room?