The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
initial basement SPL measurements
Old 7th November 2019
Lives for gear

initial basement SPL measurements

I'm starting to setup my gear in my basement (32' x 30'). This is the first measurement done in REW, It seems I have a big bump at 135Hz and a dip at 95Hz. Is this within a decent range to start - meaning can I possibly turn it into an OK room?

curves have 1/48 smoothing. L - green, R - red monitor. Recorded with Genelec 8040s and behringer ECM8000 / antelope discrete8.
Attached Thumbnails
initial basement SPL measurements-lgreenrred.jpg  
Old 7th November 2019
Here for the gear

I am just getting started as well, but this looks very close to my initial measurement so I wanted to share what I have discovered thus far through weeks of research and testing. I think that this will help you.

My account is new, and I haven't been able to create my own thread, so perhaps this will also help to verify some of my observations.

In my room, the first two axial (front to back) room modes are at 22hz and 38hz. My sub does not produce 22hz, but I have a massive peak at 38hz, much like yours. I am considering this the primary mode in my space. It would be nice to see what is happening below 40hz btw. When using a test tone at 38hz, it is 5-10db louder than the listening position in the front corners, particularly the wall/wall/ceiling corner, extending all the way across the ceiling to the opposite corner. It is also hot on the back wall in the same places, but not as bad (25ft long).