The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Home theatre Advice needed
Old 19th October 2019
Here for the gear

Home theatre Advice needed

First off I'll admit that i am new to this. a few months of online research while I am deployed overseas has given me just enough information to be dangerous... But I am coming home soon and am going to see what I can make of things in my newly built basement!

So the floor plan is in the attachments, along with two pictures facing the TV and two facing rearward. Open curtains and closed curtains of each.

There will be a 7.2.4 dolby atmos set up. Home theater is going to be 99% of the usage.

Planned acoustic treatments are;
1) Corner bass traps for the front corners as shown in the renders. May go with a scatter plate option?

2) Floor standing absorber for the side wall reflections that can be moved away when its not in home theater mode.

3)Vicoustic VMT for the front wall and ceiling (as shown in render as marble). This is the wifes only demand. She loves the look of the accent wall, and it'll have LED trim. PLUS it blocks out a window.

4) The two pillars are the back (one casing a small load bearing post, the other not) are going to be stripped of drywall, stuffed with absorber and wrapped in fabric, and turned into two big old bass traps. Possibly going to make a DIY BAD panels as scatter plates around it as a box before the fabric wrap if I can figure out how to do it right... Ideally I'd go with a BAD panel that just replaces the drywall and I wont need to alter anything else.

5) Curtains, as seen in the pics, will be purchased for light control, and high end management. They block out the window and rear light, pretty married to the idea of them, though they can be lighter or heavier depending on room acoustics.

6)Floor is carpeted with decent memory foam underpinning

If you are still with me feel free to point our obvious flaws in my plan. The two pillars are my only DIY project so they need the most advice.