The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Monitor Placement in New Room
Old 12th September 2019
Lives for gear
Monitor Placement in New Room

Hi guys, I'm definitely not new to the forums and I'm sure some of you may have seen my posts here a few times, but I'm no expert so I'm seeking your help.

I'm in the process of retrofitting a once bedroom into my new studio space, and although I have a fair idea of where I should put my monitors, I'm not entirely sure. Mostly because I know where I want to put my monitors, but I don't think it'll be the best place as far acoustics are concerned. A few months ago I had another space available to me, that was much larger and was 100% symmetrical, but due to familial reasons it's no longer an option. I've attached a sketch of the space, with dimensions.

The space is built with concrete walls, and the dimensions are: Length - 18.5ft, Width (A) - 9.9ft, Width (B) - 11.3 ft. Height (ceiling to floor) - 9.7 ft.

My first thought was to set up my listening area against Wall A, with my monitors firing towards Wall B. The reason for this was because I have a 50" TV that I planned to wall-mount on Wall A. This would free up Wall B, allowing me to get some natural light into the room from the window. Placing the TV there would block the window. This is what I want to do. But, I'm thinking that for acoustics, my monitors would be better placed against Wall B, though I'm not sure because I'd be operating in a cavity, for the most part.

The room is oddly shaped, and not really symmetrical. The entrance to the empty walk-in closet would be blocked with a rolling gobo, made to fit snuggly into the space (acting as wall, of sorts), made from rockwool at a depth of 5 inches. From my reading here, that seems like a good idea, but is it?

Another option is to place my set-up along the straight length of the room, but I know acoustically that would probably be a very bad idea...