The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Input needed for my garage isolation booth! I did my homework ;)
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Input needed for my garage isolation booth! I did my homework ;)

Hi everyone,

I'm a long time lurker on this sub. I'm an amateur singer/songwriter/musician who is finally able to build a small home studio. Been a dream of mine to have this and I've been researching like crazy about the proper way to build a studio. I've bought and read cover to cover Rod Gervais' book and most of my specs will come from that excellent reference. I will also use Tom Sayer's design for a vocal booth ( http://www.johnlsayers.com/phpBB2/vi...hp?f=1&t=14147 ...subscription is require to see plan document ) and most of my questions will be in regards to this vocal booth design and how likely my plan will achieve my expected results in a garage.

My situation:
I have a wife and small children who I don't want to bother/terrorize with my music. I also have close neighbors which I need to be on good terms with. I have a regular day job so the times I'll be singing and recording guitars (accoustic/electric/bass) will mostly be in the evening/night time. I've read posts here saying that vocal booth are more for sound isolation than sound treatment/recording wise because of the underlying boxyness issues with small rooms, here's why I don't think this matters much for my needs ...

My Needs: I need to be a grammy winning songwriter... Oh wait, that's a little presumptuous...lol! What I primarily need is a:
1- sound isolation room so I can practice my voice (full belting style) for 1-2 hours straight, with loud enough sound attenuation for recording electric guitars (no drum recording needed...they'll be done in MIDI) and not bothering my family inside the house and neighbors.