The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Effectiveness of Ultratouch for bass trapping
Old 7th August 2019
Here for the gear

Effectiveness of Ultratouch for bass trapping

Hi all,

I'm hearing contradicting thoughts about how effective is Ultratouch at low frequencies. In my room, I'm more concerned about low mids and imaging.

I've been using Fiberglass for many years but have decided to not use it nor Rockwool for health reasons.

Would love to hear the experience from people using either Ultratouch or any other Cotton/alternative material for panels/traps.

Thanks,
Eitan
Old 7th August 2019
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by teomi View Post
Hi all,

I'm hearing contradicting thoughts about how effective is Ultratouch at low frequencies. In my room, I'm more concerned about low mids and imaging.

I've been using Fiberglass for many years but have decided to not use it nor Rockwool for health reasons.

Would love to hear the experience from people using either Ultratouch or any other Cotton/alternative material for panels/traps.

Thanks,
Eitan
What contradiction? Ultratouch has been identified basically since it came out as having too high a GFR for low frequency absorption in bass traps.

This is in blunt straight to the point words. Research has indicated Ultratouch fibers may be MORE DANGEROUS than mineral wool insulation.
Old 7th August 2019
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by avare View Post

This is in blunt straight to the point words. Research has indicated Ultratouch fibers may be MORE DANGEROUS than mineral wool insulation.
Thanks Avare. Can you point me to that research please?
Old 7th August 2019
Lives for gear

I just found this with a quick Google search: https://www.finehomebuilding.com/200...ean-insulation