The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Isolation Transformer builds
Old 18th July 2019
Lives for gear

Isolation Transformer builds

Hey all, I was wondering how many of you all have built or installed isolation transformers to either get zero out line noise or deal with problems in ur lines? Im about to install a couple cryo treated power lines and just thinking about either building one out or buying one. I really am looking for that super black background to make music with. So who has em, wants em or have any ideas or schematics or recommendations on this? Thanks guys.
Old 19th July 2019
Lives for gear
I'm not an expert on the subject, but I do use the furman IT 1220's at least to cut back on line hum. It seems impossible to wire a rack where there are really never any power cables that aren't that close to line cables...let alone getting a band all miked up and plugged in.

That said, I doubt if a transformer alone will take out any issues that are upstream in the line. It will just flip them two balanced and then back again no?

I've heard some people say good things about AC regenerating UPS's, but don't have any experience. With so many things going to SMPS, I wonder how much it matters beyond power line and cable crosstalk.
Old 19th July 2019
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanC View Post
I'm not an expert on the subject, but I do use the furman IT 1220's at least to cut back on line hum. It seems impossible to wire a rack where there are really never any power cables that aren't that close to line cables...let alone getting a band all miked up and plugged in.

That said, I doubt if a transformer alone will take out any issues that are upstream in the line. It will just flip them two balanced and then back again no?

I've heard some people say good things about AC regenerating UPS's, but don't have any experience. With so many things going to SMPS, I wonder how much it matters beyond power line and cable crosstalk.