The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
2 Car Garage Conversion - 2019 Edition!
Old 10th July 2019
Gear Nut

2 Car Garage Conversion - 2019 Edition!

There is a VERY similiar garage conversion project here:

2 Car Garage conversion to studio.

Looks like the OP does not post on GS anymore. His thread actually came to a final conclusion, so I didn't want to hijack his completed project with mine.

I'll definitely post before and after pictures after a garage clean out.

Primarily, I'm a pianist/keyboardist, composer, arranger, but I also record live instruments, so this is going to be a project studio/Tracking/mixing/rehearsal studio as well. It's a 20' X 20' with a 12' ceiling (highest center point). It's all going to be One general purpose room.

Outside noise level:
1) I'm the last house on a Col-de-sac, so a fair number of cars making u-turns about 20' away from the garage door while blasting loud music
2) Large dogs barking on top of my own little Pomeranian
3) Hovering small airplanes and helicopters ....A high school marching band...
4) Beautiful but extremely loud wild parrots...etc
5) And last but not least constant construction noise from the neighborhood.

Inside noise...I'm not Metal loud, but still too loud. I'm hoping for at least 60 to 65 dB of isolation. That'll definitely take care of the outside noise for the most part.

Overall, soundproofing is my priority. It'd be nice to save some money, but again my goal is to get the job done right. My budget is $25K but I can go up to around $30K if need be.

I'm going with the room within a room approach. I have some general questions:

1) The highest center point of the ceiling is 12' but there are four 10' tall horizontal rafters going from wall to wall. Should I go all the way to the top, or use the rafter for my ceiling height? Personally I would love to take advantage of the full height, but I don't know if that's a good idea from sound-proofing perspective.