The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Treating my loft
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear
Treating my loft

Hi guys,

Okay so I would like some advice on treating the acoustics of my room which is a loft conversion.

The flooring is laminate wood and the dimensions are 3.15m (L) by 5.5m (H).

The high ceiling height is 2m and the low ceiling height is 1m.

The distance between the back of the speakers and the wall behind is 25cm - which can be moved if needed.

The room is lacking in low end and the mids are horribly uneven.

I'm completely new to handling acoustics and I've also attached some photos of the room as well as a REW waterfall graph.

Hoping to hear from you guys soon. Thanks alot.
Attached Thumbnails
Treating my loft-img_1970.jpg   Treating my loft-img_1971.jpg   Treating my loft-img_1972.jpg   Treating my loft-img_1973.jpg   Treating my loft-img_1974.jpg  

Treating my loft-img_1975.jpg  
Attached Files
File Type: mdat Jul 8 15_13_59.mdat (2.49 MB, 11 views)

Last edited by gongy1; 1 week ago at 03:42 PM.. Reason: Measurement errors
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear
Here's a JPG of the REW waterfall
Attached Thumbnails
Treating my loft-1.jpg  
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by gongy1 View Post
Hi guys,
The distance between the back of the speakers and the wall behind is 25cm - which can be moved if needed.
Hello,

The first thing to do. After you could do a new measurement and download here.
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

Remove asymmetries from the room (the shelf). Start bass trapping. You will probably need a few GIK Monster panels to play with your 65-70 Hz mode there. The other modes are quite high up so thinner panels (GIK 244) will work.

Last edited by johannburkard; 1 week ago at 08:22 PM.. Reason: typo
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by johannburkard View Post