The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Basement Mixing Studio Design
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Basement Mixing Studio Design

Hi Everyone,

I've been a long-time lurker but this is my inaugural post here in the acoustics section.

I am a professional engineer, sound designer, mixer, by which I mean that it's how I've paid my bills for the past 20 years. Half my time is spent on music projects, mainly as a mixer these days, while the other half is in post, as a sound designer and mixer. Like most people my age, when I started out it was unheard of for clients to not be sitting on couches behind you, but these days, very little of my work is done face-to-face with clients. I work a lot with David Bottrill, who is of the Daniel Lanois lineage, and have somewhat adopted their attitudes of not having to worry about a working space being perfect, so long as it feels good to work in... to a point, of course. I'm currently in a large, open loft space with minimal acoustic treatment and no isolation. It's not ideal, but it works. However, I am now moving to a house and will be occupying the basement, which is less forgiving and, as I'm sure you've inferred, why I'm here.

The room is essentially 23'8" x 11'7" with a 6'2" ceiling height (I recognize that this is my biggest issue). I stumbled through the basics of Sketchup and cobbled together a somewhat accurate design, which I've attached, but my skills are limited. There are a few missing drops in the ceiling for ducts and a couple of windows (which I don't mind being covered), as you can see in the photos I've attached.