The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Speakers or Monitors for room EQ measurements? Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Nut

Speakers or Monitors for room EQ measurements?

As my name says I am a noob.

When I measure my room acousticd EQ wizard should I use monitors or speakers?

I found a video by some dude who had a beef with Ethan, and he was very vague with his definitions. He said Monitors add some life to the sound... really? I listened to this guy through his entire video and that is all he said about this difference between the two. I mean can't he be more of an engineer and tell us the actual difference instead of making life philosophy out of such a simple question.
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

The biggest difference is monitors tend to be black and speakers are wood finish.

Andre
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Nut

[MENTION=206159]Avare thank you for having a character that matches your photo. Now go troll somewhere else.

For anyone who wants to know, I've got it figured out

Speakers are there to benefit listeners and they provide enhanced sound. Studio monitors is for recording engineers since it gives us unadulterated sound for accurate music mixing.

The purpose of speakers is to provide listening enjoyment. The purpose of studio monitor is to provide a what it really sounds like so we can spot mistakes more easily for the creation and building of music mixes.

Peace out everyone...
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoobInAudio View Post
[MENTION=206159]Avare thank you for having a character that matches your photo. Now go troll somewhere else.

Speakers are there to benefit listeners and they provide enhanced sound. Studio monitors is for recording engineers since it gives us unadulterated sound for accurate music mixing.