The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Yamaha HS7 Monitors Fatiguing Ears or is it a bad room? Studio Monitors
Old 10th January 2019
Here for the gear

Yamaha HS7 Monitors Fatiguing Ears or is it a bad room?

Hi everyone,

I have been searching & reading through similar threads trying to find a solution for an on-going problem of ear fatigue with my current bedroom studio setup, but am still stumped and not sure what to do. I'm an electronic producer / singer / songwriter mostly working on my own daily (about 3-5 hrs ea day, sometimes more).

I have a small - medium sized room (~8' x 12'), my set up consisting of a standing desk with laptop going to an external monitor that sits on a wall mounted shelf. The set up is oriented the short way in the room as there is a rather large window on one end. Audio is being processed by a Scarlet 2i4 interface and then played through a pair of Yamaha HS7 Studio Monitors which sit on their own stands about 6" from the wall and have thin foam pads to sit on for isolation.

Before they were sitting on the wooden shelf w/o isolation, so putting them on stands and farther apart has definitely helped tame things a bit.

My listening position is about 45" from each speaker, and they are about that distance from each other as well.

I have been planning to add some simple acoustic foam treatment to my room, as I'm aware that this will help tame reflections and harshness, but even without treatment, I feel that this set up is causing me abnormal ear fatigue when I monitor at a sometimes very quiet level (45-55 db) turning it up sometimes to hear specific things (roommate who also has HS7s doesn't seem to have the same issue). I even have tried to get in the habit of taking more breaks and walking around, but it doesn't seem to be enough.