The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Help With Analyzing REW Results and Path of Treatment(s) Studio Monitors
Old 1st December 2018
Gear Maniac

Post Help With Analyzing REW Results and Path of Treatment(s)

Hello, I am requesting some help with analysis of my REW data before I begin treatment of my room. I am pretty new to REW, but I took a lot of notes, read a lot of posts/threads/forums, and watched several videos. It was a lot to take in, but I think I got it! Essentially, I am trying to tackle some downright-nasty peaks and valleys in my lows to mid-lows.

My room looks like this:

Ceiling height is 9ft. Front wall is covered by a hanging, Persian rug, pretty dense and thick. Desk is U-shaped with piles of synth and gear on top. Reflective surfaces are definitely diffused and scattered. Additional room treatments are only two, 4'x2' Auralex foam panels on either side of the listening position and one in the rear of the room. They do next to nothing, but I got them for free. Walls are "Southwest-style" textured drywall. Room is furnished with another office desk in corner 3 , a leather ottoman in corner 4, entry door at corner 5 , and a table/desk with office equipment on it between corners 1 and 5. Windows are immediately to the left of corner 1, a large a very one between 2 and 3. All windows are covered with louvered, wooden blinds.

Here is my REW file to start with: REW/2018.11.30.mdat

Speakers are JBL LSR308's. Microphone used is Dayton Audio EMM-6 with calibration file used. Microphone pointed straight up at listening position. Audio interface is Saffire Pro40, with output set to -10dB (via software) for all tests. Interface/input calibration performed, with the input set to unity gain.