The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Diffusion is making me crazy..... Diffusion Products
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Diffusion is making me crazy.....

This is all by ear, so absent REW measurements mind you, so please pretty please bear with me.....

I have a small mixing/vocal recording room...131 inch by 134 inch

I studied, re-studied, and over-studied treatment. Went over graphs...did so much. (pain-staking, but a labor of love).

The real traps fellow and many others recommend absorption only for small rooms....

any rear wall within ten feet of the listener = absorption, they all say. (ive read THOUSANDS of posts)

I had great acoustic treatment done...all 4 corners are built in bass traps with rock wool...4" thick panels hung 4" off the walls......4inch thick traps ABOVE reflection points at the wall/ceiling joints..

clouds..

But my rear half of the room had some funky sh*t going on with lows...and I always had mud in the vocals at 250 (ish) hz.

I mixed my highs too hot, as well.

My room was un-naturally DEAD, was the problem. TOO much absorption.

So..

I recalculated, re studied.....studied expertise here, as a reader...

and re-arranged all of my treatments to be even better ....

and my REAR WALL(center), and SECOND reflection points on my side walls are left to do.

PROBLEM: Room sounds great with them walls bare, and the rear bass issue is GONE.

This tells me.....Diffusion. Diffusion would be my last step....just on the high end... so-as to not have flat-wall reflections smacking right back at me......and at the same time, leaving the room "alive"

Sooooo0o0o

UGHHHhhhh...reading this site and many others, there's raging debate as to whether or not diffusion is effective in small rooms.

Theres testimony from COUNTLESS people saying its worked wonders....and COUNTLESS people saying its too small of a space.

The fakk?