The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Monitors dip at 1KHz
Old 28th October 2018
Gear Head

Monitors dip at 1KHz

Hello guys,

I have a dip at 1KHz with Adam A5Xmonitors, I have measured them separately but there is no dip, they only have dip when they both play in the sweet spot.

Could anyone help me to identify the problem as I am not a professional in acoustics?

I do have a pretty well treated room

Here is the problem

I have done realtime measurement in each monitor closely but they play nicely. The dip is when both are playing

I am making measurements with Sonarworks Reference microphone and software.

Thanks a lot guys
Old 29th October 2018
Lives for gear

You have destructive interference.
Easy way is to put an spl meter up at the listening position, play a 1k sine wave out of both speakers and adjust the two speaker positions so that the spl meter reads loudest (toe them out a little.)
Old 29th October 2018
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by pentagon View Post
You have destructive interference.
Easy way is to put an spl meter up at the listening position, play a 1k sine wave out of both speakers and adjust the two speaker positions so that the spl meter reads loudest (toe them out a little.)
Thank you!

You think its the speakers position problem or any reflections?
Old 29th October 2018
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thavma View Post
Thank you!

You think its the speakers position problem or any reflections?
A pic or drawing of the situation would help....
Old 29th October 2018
Gear Addict

If I understand correctly, when you play each speaker individually there is no dip? If so, than you most probably have no problem.

The dip is a result of the mic not being perfectly centered in between the speakers, so the signals from L and R speakers reach it with a small time difference - and that creates interference.