The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Layman's Guide to DIY Acoustic Panels
Old 1 week ago
Gear Maniac

Smile Layman's Guide to DIY Acoustic Panels

I'm writing this guide because there are many guides out there online, but I feel like most of them are either not thorough enough or are full of minutia that is important for professional sound engineers building a commercial studio but not necessarily practical for those who are building their first studio on a budget.

Is It Worth The Time/Effort?

Yes. (unless you're extremely busy or have plenty of disposable income). DIY panels are half the price of panels you would buy online, and a fraction of the price of auralex panels. For $200-500, you can build panels to treat a whole room (or buy a few tiny Auralex panels to cover a little corner of the room).

I have very little experience with carpentry or handiwork, and I found this project to be very easy. The only challenge is stepping outside of my comfort zone and doing the online research to learn about everything I needed to make it. With this guide, I hope to save you time by having all the relevant info in one place, as well as tips to help to build efficiently.

In the general sense, after you get the supplies needed, I recommend building one panel fully at first and seeing how it comes out before building more. Assuming you did your research, nothing should come out totally horrible but there are a few minor little mistakes that I made in my first panel, and I used that as a lesson for my other 9 panels.

Wood Frames