The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Studio desk building plans?
Old 15th April 2018
Gear Maniac

Studio desk building plans?

Can anyone link me to any kind of studio desk building plans/measurements?

I'm pretty much ITB but have a couple of rack bits and a keyboard.

I'm not experienced building but thought this could be a good start if I had some plans to help.

Thanks in advance,

dan
Old 15th April 2018
Lives for gear

I don't have any plans, but acoustically speaking I'd advise keeping the desk as small as possible.
Old 16th April 2018
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezenears View Post
Can anyone link me to any kind of studio desk building plans/measurements?

I'm pretty much ITB but have a couple of rack bits and a keyboard.

I'm not experienced building but thought this could be a good start if I had some plans to help.

Thanks in advance,

dan

hey dan,

here a link:

https://sterlingmodular.com/product-pages/plan-series/

choose the model you like and download the spec sheet. the spec sheet shows the measurements.

greetings
Matthew
Old 16th April 2018
Old 17th April 2018
Gear Maniac

Thanks Jens and Mathew, I'll give them a shot.
Old 18th April 2018
Lives for gear

There are quite a few models on SketchUp's searchable model database.

I'm in the process of building my rig and decided to go with this desk for my setup, with minor adjustments:
My stutio desk | 3D Warehouse

You can easily use the tape-measure tool to get the dimensions. The designer (Alexey E) did a great job if you ask me, as it fit my needs precisely. The keyboard tray is fit to support most 88key keyboards, and the 4U rack spaces are built to fit 19" units, and with a decent depth. It's a very solid, simple and well thought-out design.
Old 19th April 2018
jrl
Here for the gear