The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Anyone using a Studiodesk Music Commander?
Old 17th June 2016
Gear Maniac

Anyone using a Studiodesk Music Commander?

Hi,

I´ve stumbled upon some ads from a company that calls itself "studiodesk" and makes desks optimized for music production environments. I know that many people assemble their desks themselves because it is cheaper but I am not that good at practical work and I really like the studiodesk-design and its apparent functionality so I am willing to pay the price IF it really holds its promises.

The reason I am starting a thread here is that I have found no neutral reviews of the desk, only a few affiliates and semi-affiliates raving about it and few customer pictures from people having it.

So my questions to the people using it (or knowing someone who uses it):
- Is it solid and of good build quality?
- Is it pretty straightforward to build up and needs no additional pieces (read about a customer who said he had to install some more screws for stability)?
- Is it as functional and ergonomic to use as it looks?
- Generally, is there a catch?

It looks really nice and professional but it somehow makes me sceptical that it is advertised so aggressively, yet there are few neutral opinios of it around.

Thanks to everybody who shares his opinion
Old 10th February 2017
Here for the gear

I'm not using it but as a carpenters son I can say that it's looking good but not designed by carpenters. Cheap materials and cheap fittings. No carpenter ever will use those L shaped metal fittings for construction only for strengthening existing ones. The price must reflect that nice shiny 'piano' finish (which can gather fingerprints quite quick imho). It might be really comfortable but the engineering is not really pro.
Old 22nd February 2017
Gear Maniac