The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Cubase Loudness Meter Is Incorrect
Old 24th May 2019
Gear Head
Cubase Loudness Meter Is Incorrect

Specifically the K-20 meter.

I have bx_meter on the stereo out reading roughly K-20 and the Cubase meter is around 12 dB higher.

Same issue with all Third party loudness meters on the Stereo Out.

I'm relatively new to Cubase, so it could be some sort of routing issue or meter setting I'm not familiar with.

Any ideas?

Picture attached
Attached Thumbnails
Cubase Loudness Meter Is Incorrect-cubase-loudness.jpg  
Old 24th May 2019
Lives for gear

Check any Cubase preferences for metering in the preferences window, check preferences for metering in the metering 'pane' (shown to the right in your image), check routing to make sure there isn't some gain/attenuation going on and the meters you're using are really measuring the same signal at the same place in the signal chain.

Also, when you say "Same issue with all Third party loudness meters" are you saying that they are all off relative to your bx-meter and are measuring like the built-in Cubase meter? If you are, then it seems more likely to me that one plugin is wrong rather than many - i.e. the bx plugin is wrong, not the rest.
Old 25th May 2019
Gear Head
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattiasnyc View Post
Check any Cubase preferences for metering in the preferences window, check preferences for metering in the metering 'pane' (shown to the right in your image), check routing to make sure there isn't some gain/attenuation going on and the meters you're using are really measuring the same signal at the same place in the signal chain.