The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Upgrade to Cubase 10 from Cubase 7?
Old 21st May 2019
Here for the gear

Upgrade to Cubase 10 from Cubase 7?

I'm a long time user of Cubase, since Cubase VST32. I've been running Cubase 7 for the past several years and have really enjoyed it.

I'm trying out the new Cubase Pro 10 demo as my upgrade is only $100 and I've been loyal to Cubase all along.

However, I can't decide if there is any reason for me to upgrade. I seem to like the UI design of 7 over 10. 10 seems to be overly contrasted and everything larger. I've got both programs open and toggling back and forth between to see the visual difference. I find that 7 is calmer to my eyes. I like the smaller detailed.

I think there comes a point where you've reached a plateau of innovation and you begin tinkering with something that doesn't really need tinkering with. The pressure to keep innovating to generate sales can harm good software. Heck I still use Windows 7.

Anyways, I see many folks who like the new look of Cubase. It would be nice when they make radical changes to give some options to have a classic look, or variations of UI design. In a way your forcing people to adapt to a new way when they were used to a previous way. Perhaps all they want are the new functions, not a whole new look.

Just my thoughts, going to give 10 some more time and see.. Thx
Old 21st May 2019
Lives for gear

Sounds that, like myself, you're on the verge of becoming a dinosaur.
At some point, as unlikely as it seems, your computer may die.
It happened to me this year. You'll go to get a new one and everything will have Win 10.
You can either try to find another old, broken down model, or update.
At that point you'll probably think about the current Cubase 10 offer and wish you would have
taken advantage of it.

Or maybe not.
Ive heard that some people still use Atari, but I'd have to see it to believe it.