The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Power For Stage Lighting Dynamics Plugins
Old 26th September 2018
Here for the gear

Power For Stage Lighting

Hey all,

I'm new to stage lighting / DMX and I was curious...

What do you guys do about getting adequate power to your lights on stage? Are you using just a simple surge protector? Does the power need to come from another external power source? How much does chaining power from lights draw out of power strips?

I know it's a case by case and light by light situation, I'm going to have this setup soon for reference

4 x Chauvet Intimidator 140 SR hybrid (140 W obviously)
3 x Chauvet Shocker 2 (Dual 85 W bulbs)

I just want to make sure I'm not going to blow a circuit out or something like that.

Thanks y'all.
Old 8th October 2018
S21
Lives for gear

You need to add up the current draw and make sure it fits within what the breaker will supply.

Get yourself one of those $20-ish green power meters and measure what parts of your system draw under real world conditions.

The power required by sound systems is often overestimated.

Whether lights require a separate breaker probably depends on what you also have on stage. I do like wiring up power for lights separately for troubleshooting purposes.

Within the rated capacity of a power circuit there are no “loss” considerations for daisy-chained power strips. There are however safety and aesthetic issues. Keep it tidy and out of harms way.
Old 19th November 2018
Here for the gear

[QUOTE=ALMODrummer;13538696]Hey all,

I'm new to stage lighting / DMX and I was curious...

What do you guys do about getting adequate power to your lights on stage?

I know it's a case by case and light by light situation, I'm going to have this setup soon for reference

4 x Chauvet Intimidator 140 SR hybrid (140 W obviously)
3 x Chauvet Shocker 2 (Dual 85 W bulbs)