The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Recommend decent but very portable lighting for bands?
Old 10th June 2017
Lives for gear

Recommend decent but very portable lighting for bands?

Hi,

I have been providing sound for various local events and am looking to add some lighting. I am completely new to lighting so have no idea what I should be looking to buy. I mainly work by myself so want something small, lightweight and effective.
I have used the common KAM Party Bar type of setup with 4 units attached to a T-Bar but would like to add some other lights to have more impact/variety to the stage lighting??

What would you recommend that's lightweight and very easy to rig by myself? I'm not sure on budget as I don't know what's available or how much it costs?

Thanks
Old 12th June 2017
Gear Head

You start with some LED pars, learn DMX, want to be able to do more with DMX, add more pars or budget moving lights and before you know it, you will spend as much on lights and control as you did when you made the jump from MI speakers to semi professional speakers :p

When I started with adding lights I got 8x ADJ 12p hex lights. They are portable, bright and practical. As they are 6in1 leds, they can be used for front light (with clamp on speaker pole for example) and emulate conventional theatre lighting. I used up-lighting the most. No need for poles, just position them on the ground, have some DMX scenes and strobe prepared and you're good to go. If you start with lights, learn DMX. This will double the pleasure when doing a band and you be out of hands mixing and doing DMX at the same time :p

To learn DMX, there are several programs. Martin MPC is a well known program and full of features. It's free for 1 universe and artnet so it can be the only program you need (with midi controllers). I have no experience with light controllers but they are expensive and to my opinion limited compared to software.