The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Flaking out at a open mic
Old 5 days ago
Lives for gear
Flaking out at a open mic

Tonight i went to a open mic and just wasn’t feeling the atmosphere or the crowd i do more country and americana this place was a very rock oriented crowd. and mostly covers. not that i don't like it i just felt out of place.

Im new to playing out and all i do is originals and i play at the main singer songwriter place in my city two to three nights a week, where people go to listen to the type of stuff i do. And actually listen. i get feedback my buddy played and got no response He has a more rock style than me so i just left.

This was just a bar and people were there to drink. And its cool. I get it. But it bugs Me I didn’t balls up and play to what seemed like a unreceptive crowd. Whats you guys opinions on this. Im just trying to play out as much as i can and ive got some really good feedback. I feel im doing well. but i do deal with nerves stage fright and am building confidence. I know i must face adversity to get better. I just felt very out of place
Old 5 days ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by boomer81 View Post
Tonight i went to a open mic and just wasn’t feeling the atmosphere or the crowd i do more country and americana this place was a very rock oriented crowd. and mostly covers. not that i don't like it i just felt out of place.

Im new to playing out and all i do is originals and i play at the main singer songwriter place in my city two to three nights a week, where people go to listen to the type of stuff i do. And actually listen. i get feedback my buddy played and got no response He has a more rock style than me so i just left.