The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Self-publishing with ASCAP?
Old 2nd September 2019
Self-publishing with ASCAP?

Hi there. I should really know this by now... but... i don't

I’ve been registering my tracks on ASCAP for many years, and never signed with a proper publisher. A few labels over the years took publishing before I really understood what that meant… not great, surely. But yeah that’s over.

I’d like to self-publish, so do I need to set up a second entity as publisher and enter that as the remaining 50% in track registrations? If so, once I set up an ASCAP publishing account, does this mean that I can retroactively amend all tracks without a proper publisher? Further, does this involve reclamation of unclaimed royalties as well? I have been receiving checks over the years as an Artist already, of course.

Bit confused even after all these years, unfortunately. I know I’m not alone. I tried writing to ASCAP but they aren't great at responding to me.

Thanks in advance for any time spent in helping a dude out ::

Alland

EDIT: FWIW I'm an electronic music producer, not writing sung songs or covers. Just straight up producing individual tracks.
Old 2nd September 2019
Lives for gear

Call them, they’re quite nice and responsive.

I don’t know how much you can retroactively collect, but it’ll double your money going forward.
Old 3rd September 2019
Quote:
Originally Posted by newguy1 View Post
Call them, they’re quite nice and responsive.

I don’t know how much you can retroactively collect, but it’ll double your money going forward.
Thanks so much! I've heard wildly mixed things about retroactive claims, but not sure if that was as artist or whatever else. Anyway, thanks I'll definitely give them a call. Need to sync up some time zone action

Appreciate your time and answer
a
Old 6th September 2019
Gear Addict