The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Lyric copyright (Google V. Genius)
Old 17th June 2019
Gear Nut

Lyric copyright (Google V. Genius)

I was reading an article about how Genius.com put "morse code" into "its" song lyrics to prove that Google was lifting them from the site and posting them in search results. (https://www.theverge.com/2019/6/16/1...ong-rap-lyrics)

It struck me that Google was pretty much copying Genius' copy of a third party's work.

I've never looked into this, nor really thought about of it before, but Genius.com doesn't licenses those lyrics, the way it would have to license the recorded lyrics, does it? Is that even a thing? Can you really claim someone is infringing on something you don't even own? That'd be like a guitar tab site suing a cover band over their bar gig last Saturday night.

Thoughts?

I am not a lawyer, nor have I played one on TV.
Old 18th June 2019
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRealSPH3 View Post
I was reading an article about how Genius.com put "morse code" into "its" song lyrics to prove that Google was lifting them from the site and posting them in search results. (https://www.theverge.com/2019/6/16/1...ong-rap-lyrics)

It struck me that Google was pretty much copying Genius' copy of a third party's work.

I've never looked into this, nor really thought about of it before, but Genius.com doesn't licenses those lyrics, the way it would have to license the recorded lyrics, does it? Is that even a thing? Can you really claim someone is infringing on something you don't even own? That'd be like a guitar tab site suing a cover band over their bar gig last Saturday night.

Thoughts?

I am not a lawyer, nor have I played one on TV.
Well, I have the Perry Mason B&W boxed set, so clearly I have much expertise in intellectual property matters. (I think Perry mentioned copyright in about one of the 270 or so episodes.)