The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Whom Among You Share In My Distinction?
Old 22nd March 2019
Whom Among You Share In My Distinction?

I've been writing songs for 44 years now, and I have never once uttered the term 'yeah' in any of them.

Just wondering who else can testify, as I blow my own horn for a bar or two.
Old 22nd March 2019
Gear Addict

Huh! I've been writing songs for 44 years, too! And I can say that there's not a single "yeah" in any of the three songs* I've ever written.

*I've been getting the impression I might be the least productive songwriter here.
Old 23rd March 2019
Lives for gear

it's never too late to start
Old 24th March 2019
Lives for gear

It's not done until there's a yeah in there imo
Old 26th March 2019
Lives for gear

The Troll Song makes excellent use of yeahs and nahs. Perhaps some deep inspiration here. There's captions in case you don't quite catch it.

Old 27th March 2019
Lives for gear

Reminds me of a conversation I had with some bandmates 30-something years ago. The guitarist and drummer had played in several other bands with me so were familiar with my composing...but the three of us were essentially "hired guns" to support the keyboard player and singer who were the primary songwriters for this project. However, I had some material that seemed appropriate for this band, so I brought in a few demos.

As we're listening to my demos the guitarist turns to me and says "Geez Bob, I didn't expect to hear the word 'love' in one, much less two of your lyrics!"

To which the drummer chimed in "...but I did expect to hear the word 'shirt' more often!"

I confess, I have indeed used the word "shirt" in a lyric more than once.

I have almost certainly used the word "yeah" in a lyric more than once as well, but off the top of my head I cannot recall the context so it was probably many years ago.
Old 28th March 2019