The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
So what are the best studio chairs now? ergonomic and good for back ?
Old 25th February 2015

I am looking for a great chair that can help me with keeping may back in better shape..
Old 25th February 2015
Gear Addict

Hard to go wrong with an Aeron chair. I've been using mine for 15+ years and except for dust it's as "like new" as day one. Built like a frikin' tank and if you remind yourself to sit in it properly it's gonna help you. That's the thing with most chairs, even the high zoot ones...you CAN slouch in 'em. I see 'em still going for what I paid back then...ca $500. Not cheap but the quality cannot be beat. Kinda like the Neumann of chairs.
Old 25th February 2015
Not quite Aeron but

I've got two standard, padded office chairs in my office. Both of which I found outside of office buildings and immediately took off the backs.

As both the performer and recording engineer, I battle with cabling and pointy guitar necks while trying to hit play and record. No back to the chairs helps quite a bit. Also, I find it improves my core and is an all day simulation of sitting while gigging.
Old 25th February 2015
Lives for gear

I've had pretty extensive backproblems and now I'm pretty much back to normal after getting professional help for a few years. Apart from correcting problems an equally big part is preventing new ones from coming.

Sitting is a very bad position for the body in the long run and if you need to sit down for work the best position is more like standing up and using a saddle-chair. It's a bitch in a studio since you need to get everything higher up from the floor, desk, monitors, everything.. I did it in my mixroom as I really had no choice but to prioritize my back.

It is amazingly comfortable once you find the right position and get used to supporting yourself with your core muscles.