The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
You are likely to record a gold/platinum album if you....
Old 1st December 2006
Lives for gear

You are likely to record a gold/platinum album if you....

You are least twice as likely to record a gold or platinum album if you DO NOT complete a music engineering degree.. The link below is to a quite solid poll conducted on this forum..
https://www.gearslutz.com/board/the-moan-zone/80537-how-many-platinum-engineers-engineering-degree.html

If you care to comment then please comment PURELY from the statistical basis that as of 11/30/06 the vote looked like this:

Yes- I have an audio engineering degree and am a chief engineer for gold/platinum records 19 29.69%
No - I do not have an audio engineering degree but am a chief engineer for gold/platinum records 45 70.31%

The data speaks for itself...
Old 1st December 2006
Gear maniac

or those who have recorded a gold or platinum album have less need to pursue a music engineering degree
Old 1st December 2006
Lives for gear

Old 1st December 2006
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by djui5 View Post
ditto
that
Old 1st December 2006
Gear Head

The is an example of why you have to be careful with statistics. Engineering degrees have only become common relatively recently. Older, more experienced engineers/producers are more likely to have made platinum albums. I suspect they are also less likely to spend time on internet forums (as a trend, of course, not a rule).

Old 1st December 2006
Gear Guru

Old 1st December 2006
Lives for gear

... or maybe it's just that a preponderance of folks with shiny metal records are old enough that they started their careers during an era before the schools sprouted up en-masse .. ?

[edit -- nod at Mr Skills]