The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
anyone using the studio projects mics? Condenser Microphones
Old 13th December 2003
Gear Maniac

anyone using the studio projects mics?

anyone using these nice mics....is it real or just a hype?
What's the deal!!!
Old 13th December 2003
Gear Addict

I have 2 B3's which turn out to be pretty cheap, usable multipattern mics. I'm sure plenty of people would say I'm talking out my ass, but I use them things like room mics and in front of clean guitars, they are really neutral.

Brandon
Old 13th December 2003
Lives for gear

I have some limited experience using the C3 and a lot using the B1. In general both mics are very useable, despite the slightly hyped sound. The C3 is a multipattern mic and sounds nice in omni. I especially have been enjoying the B1 on many things...acoustic guitar, drum overheads, male vocals, electric guitar, and toms. The stand-outs for me are toms and distorted electric guitar. My good friend uses his B1 on his vocals and acoustic guitar a lot through an RNP. I was suprised recently at how great that mic is on electric guitar. I put up my U195 for comparison purposes thinking that the sound would only get better. Much to my surprise the B1 actually fit the guitar/amp combo a little better, but the overall the sound was very similar between the two mics.

It's hard to go wrong at only $80...

Brad
Old 13th December 2003
Gear Addict

I have to agree about the B-1. I use them for drum overheads, acoustic guitar, and anything else where you want an unhyped sound. Very nice for $80. It has beaten out a U87 and a Gefell UMT800 on a few occasions here.

Beez
Old 13th December 2003
Jr. Gear Slut 2nd class

Chu, they're well worth trying.

Both the B1 and C1 have been proven to be viable on my voice, although they sound WAY different. They complement each other well,