The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
why am I not hearing a single difference in my new preamp? Condenser Microphones
Old 22nd February 2014
Gear Head

why am I not hearing a single difference in my new preamp?

The setup is a Shure SM7b into a Daking Mic Pre One through an M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8r. Sonically, I can't hear at all a difference running into the Daking vs running straight through the interface. When comparing with a spectrum analyzer they are also the exact same frequency-wise. This is me recording through both preamps at the same time with the same two mics in the same position. Am I doing something wrong? I'm bypassing the M-Audio's preamps by going through the line out of the Daking, so it's only the Daking providing my signal. So.. what could it be? Is it possible the converters are the problem? This is my first time with a dedicated preamp, and I figured maybe it would provide so more "life", but it's the same dull sound that the M-Audio has been giving me for two years now.

For a little more information about the setup, I am recording in a treated room, and I am using studio monitors for reference. Pop filter, vocal shield, etc.

Some advice/ info would be greatly appreciated.

A/B comparions are located at https://www.gearslutz.com/board/9883968-post97.html
Old 22nd February 2014
Lives for gear

Well you now know it's time to upgrade the interface. Crappy A to D makes your preamp investment unable to be realized.
It's all the balance. Same with buying fancy headphones and using mediocre D to A.
Old 22nd February 2014
Can you post two tracks for us to listen to? One with the Daking, and one only through the interface. What happens when you start to add up a bunch of tracks? I would think there would be a noticeable difference once you get 8+ tracks going.
Old 22nd February 2014
Lives for gear