The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Owens Corning 703/705 VS Duct Board Utility Software
Old 19th October 2006
Gear Addict

Owens Corning 703/705 VS Duct Board

I am pretty new to the acoustics of a room, but from everything I have read I have decided to not spend another dime on equipment until I get my listening environment more accurate. I am looking into building some bass traps for my room. Can anyone tell me the difference between a product such as Owens Corning 703/705 and Duct Board?

The reason I ask, is because a local supplier can get the Duct Board pretty easily, but I don’t want to purchase it if it’s not going to get the job done correctly.

Thanks
Old 19th October 2006
Gear Guru

Cheech,

> Can anyone tell me the difference between a product such as Owens Corning 703/705 and Duct Board? <

They're the same, and you can compare what your supplier has by its density. 703 is 3 pounds per cubic foot, and 705 is 6 pounds. As long as the duct board you're considering is basically "rigid fiberglass" it will work.

--Ethan
Old 19th October 2006
Gear Addict

Awesome My search is over!!!!!!

So correct me if I am wrong...... The 705 or 6lb per Cubic Ft would be better for the lower end trapping?

Also when mounting the insulation inside the frames, should I place both 2" pieces together for a total of 4" ? or do I leave space inbetween them?

Thanks so much Ethan!
Old 19th October 2006
Gear Guru

Cheech,

> The 705 or 6lb per Cubic Ft would be better for the lower end trapping? <

Yes, see my Density Report:

www.ethanwiner.com/density/density.html

> Also when mounting the insulation inside the frames, should I place both 2" pieces together for a total of 4" ? or do I leave space inbetween them? <

No space. You don't need glue either. Just place them adjacent and it's the same as one piece four inches thick.

--Ethan