The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
What mixing console am I looking for? Mixers (Analog)
Old 31st December 2013
Gear Head

What mixing console am I looking for?

Hello,

I'm new to outboard gear and I've got a few outboard signal processors. I'm looking for a decent mixer under $1k to send buses out to from the DAW (Ableton Live) into the processors and back into the DAW. 8 Stereo Channels (Drums bus, Synth bus, Vocal bus, Guitar bus, Master Bus etc.) would be enough I imagine. A decent onboard reverb to apply as a send on a few channels on the console would be a bonus but not necessary. I currently have a firewire audio interface that has 6 TRS stereo outputs and a single stereo input as well as two preamps. I'm a bit lost on the matter and appreciate your suggestions.
Old 1st January 2014
Old 1st January 2014
Brb
Gear Addict

a summing box
Old 1st January 2014
Gear Head

Names of brands and models would be grand. Soundcraft M12 for egs. looks decent. Analog > Digital, low noise, pro application. Although this is for my hobby, I've been mixing digitally with a mouse for well over a decade now but I've done it enough to -feel- the difference outboard and true analog signal warmth brings, especially when I work in 96khz, I want good sound out and good sound in. Thus far I've been using outboard gear one at a time where I use my limited audio interface to process and record a bus then switch cables for the next. It's a hassle obviously but worth the sonic bliss

Thank you for any suggestions to point me in the right direction and Happy New Year.
Old 1st January 2014
To directly address your question, in the way that you seem to expect, you might consider Mackie, Allen and Heath, Yamaha and the like. There is no shortage of brand names that can be suggested, especially if you consider used and new.