The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Are These Drum-mics Desired?
Old 3rd December 2013
Gear Nut

Are These Drum-mics Desired?

Hey !

So im upgrading my drum mic´s, but theres too much to choose from, and I'm not that experienced.. It sucks, but my budget is extremely important here.

My thought here is to buy 3 mics; one snare, one kick and one overhead.
Superclear sound isn't that important, its more what kind of sound and decent "full spectrum". As many others, huge fan of Kevin Parkers drum sounds. Im not after copying his sound at all, but I'm seeking something near this;
Tame Impala - Why won't you make up your mind ? - YouTube
And
Dungen - Panda [HQ] - YouTube

Probably decided to at least have one SM57 on the snare, but I'm not very sure about the kick(its not going to be the most important sound at all) and the overhead. Veryvery happy to buy vintage-stuff as well, but as i said, budget is tight, and it is important advantage that ebay has it time to time.

And BTW- if someone knows where i can get a SHURE SE-30 compressor to smash them(not for 450,- ..) i´d be really interested!

Thanks
Old 3rd December 2013
Lives for gear

1. Kick = Beta52 - $189.00 > extremely versatile with thoughtful mic placement

Shure Beta 52A | Sweetwater.com

2. Snare - Good 'ole 57 = $99 or a Shure (Unidyne III) 545 = $99 > Can't go wrong snare mics

Shure SM57 | Sweetwater.com

3. OH = Cascade Fathead = $175 > single overheads kill for a nice "full spectrum" sound

Amazon.com: Cascade Microphones FAT HEAD - Brown/Gold: Musical Instruments

Get the mics used and you'll come in under budget. Take the change and get Stillwell's Major Tom Plugin. It does "SQUISH" real lovely!