The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Dynamic Mics: when, where, and how many to get
Old 22nd October 2013
Gear Maniac

Dynamic Mics: when, where, and how many to get

Hi all,

In a recent thread I ask about some condenser microphones. Getting great suggestions there but on a sidenote a very good producer/engineer and well respected forum member (I won't say who in case he doesn't want to be mentioned) suggested I also need to expand my dynamic microphone collection.

Up until now I used to record acoustic music, more in line with the acoustic music and remote guys so my natural tendency is to use condenser mics for the most part. This means I have little experience with dynamic mics besides the obvious uses for toms and guitar cabs. I know hand percussion is another application but I usally use condensers there too.

Now, I seem to be booked for a little more varied projects :

Local Folk, World = 50%
Singer/Songwriter, Jazz = 30%
Indie, Alternative, Blues, Funky, Soul = 15%
Electronica, experimental = 4%
all the rest = 1%

The sound I'm looking for:
1. Jazz with vintage vibe
2. Jazz modern sound
3. World Music and/or cinematic: warm & sometimes lush
4. Last album of Dr John type of thing
5. Kings of Leon sound
6. "The National" mood
7. "Feist" charmingness

I have or have access to 6x57's, 3x58, 2xGefell (MD100 & 110), 2xD112, 1x421 and after the posters suggestion about dynamics I rememberd I also have but almost never used an EV N/D757SB, an EV N/D308B (the egg) and a vintage Beyerdynamic m69 which needs servicing.

The mics suggested to me were (put in qouotes)

“2+ Sennheiser 441
1-2 more 421's
1 RE20
2 EV 635A's
Some other misc. EV's for tone
1 Shure SM7
1-4 Shure 545's - smoother 57's
1-2 Beyer 201
Some Audix dynamics. I like the D6 for kick, and the I5's for a less cracking and less phasey sounding snare.”

The problem is I'm unfamiliar with their sound and their applications.