The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Overheads/Small Room/Ribbons
Old 21st October 2013
Gear Addict

Overheads/Small Room/Ribbons

So I've been amping myself up to buy some ribbons for drum overheads, and then realized- I'm going to be recording drums in a 14x18 room with a 7 foot ceiling. The room doesn't sound horrible but it doesn't sound especially good either. There's no treatment in there.
So I'm concerned that the figure eight patterns would be less than ideal. Does anyone have any workarounds for this or should I just bite the bullet and buy some SDC's instead? Or should I get the ribbons and use them as stereo room mics a few feet out?

I suppose the M160's might be a problem solver, but for whatever reason, I find myself naturally drifting in other directions.

What do you think?
Old 21st October 2013
Lives for gear
I'm a drummer and record primarily drums. I also record in a fairly small room, but it's acoustically treated. The ceiling is about 9 feet high, so it's ok. I use SM81 as L/R overheads, and an AT4033 as a center overhead (the ol' Nigel Gordrich...)

I do know that the M160s sound GREAT for overheads and on hihats...You can either use them to spot mic the cymbals, or grab an entire image of the kit. They make your cymbals sound really warm and natural. And, with those being hypercardioids, you don't have to worry about the figure-eight or the mics picking up any weird reflections. The M160s are a great mic to have for a number of different situations.

Don't know if you're in to the band White Denim, but their drummer always uses ribbons for his overheads/cymbals/hihats. Sometimes he uses Coles, but I've seen him use M160s on many occasions. Whether you're in to White Denim or not, take one listen to any of their songs and you'll hear how great the drums sound (the drummer records/engineers/mixes a lot for the band also).
Old 21st October 2013
Gear Addict

Quote: