The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
New monitors - A little advice required! :) ADAM A7X vs. B&W CDM1NT / 705
Old 21st October 2013
Here for the gear

New monitors - A little advice required! :) ADAM A7X vs. B&W CDM1NT / 705

Hello! First-time poster here, nice to finally be a member of such a fantastically useful forum :D

I am a university student in the UK (Audio Engineering BSc), and am currently looking to buy a new pair of monitors for mixing (which will also spend quite a lot of their time being used for casual listening too!). The room is pretty small (about 2.5m x 3.5m), and the monitors will be desk-mounted, just a few inches away from the (solid) rear wall (which sadly eliminates the possibility of rear-ported monitors - a shame, as the Dynaudio BM5A's & Audience 52SE's would otherwise be in this shortlist!).

My budget is around £500 - £600. Currently, at the top of my list is a second-hand pair of ADAM A7X's (which I understand to be, on the whole, a marked improvement over the previous A7 model (more power, greater LF extension, less port turbulence, more refined top-end, etc...)). These seem like a fantastic all-round monitor speaker for the money, which have received highly positive reviews from most folks on here, and are generally a pretty well established monitor at this price point.

I'm also very interested in the B&W CDM1NT's, which I had the pleasure of hearing once, and was blown away by. I understand that these were actually designed with monitoring in mind, and that resultantly, they're very revealing and true to the source. I feel that these would also be a good option, driven by my Turner B302 'studio monitor' amplifier. My only concern with these, is that the LF extension seems somewhat limited at +/-3db @ 60hz, -6db @ 48hz, compared to the ADAM's 42hz +/-3db (quite a significant difference). Perhaps I could spend the money saved on the A7X's on a partnering sub?