The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Nashville Music Industry Help
Old 21st October 2013
Here for the gear
Nashville Music Industry Help

Hey guys,
I am completely new on GS and I'm hoping to get some advice. I have been living in the Nashville area for about 8 months now and can't seem to find a single job doing anything (not even sweeping floors) in a studio. I graduated from the University of Memphis at Lambuth in August 2012 with my Bachelor's in Music Industry Studies where I focused on Audio Production. I didn't get to do an internship because at the time there weren't any studios operating in Jackson, TN that I knew of, and I couldn't afford the gas to drive to Memphis or Nashville multiple times per week. Now that I'm in the Nashville area everyone wants you to have an internship, work as an intern for college credit, or already have 3 to 5 years experience. If I could afford to do the internship I would, but I would have to buy the credit hours (almost 3k that I don't have) and I would have to cut hours at work (40+ hours just so I can pay my bills and I still struggle to make ends meet so that's not an option). I work 9-5 M-F so by the time I get off the studios seem to be closed and whenever I go to the studios on the weekends they're empty so I can't even volunteer to get experience. Is there anyway to actually get an entry-level job in a studio where I can get paid enough to make ends meet without an internship or ending up homeless? I appreciate any advice you guys could give.
Old 21st October 2013
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdowner86 View Post
Hey guys,