The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Loud headphones that hold the sound completely in?
Old 17th October 2013
Gear Maniac

Loud headphones that hold the sound completely in?

Hello Everyone,

I'm looking for very loud headphones (I know one should not listen to music loudly) that keep the sound completely inside the headphone. So when I am recording vocals you don't hear any of the music in the headphones playing. I know I can use a gate after the fact but want to find some really good headphones first.

Thanks for any advice!
Old 17th October 2013
Lives for gear
Extreme Isolation Headphones |

I use the EX-29 series. Comfortable, portable, flat frequency response, 20Hz-20Khz. I use them for mixing sometimes too just for reference. The flat frequency response makes them OK for that.

I'm a drummer and I bought these mainly to play along to tracks. Usually I'd have to turn the tracks up so loud that it could possibly damage my hearing. With these headphones, they cut out so much of the drums I'm bashing on RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME that I don't have to turn the track up so much. I love these things and would swear by them.

Watch this video around the 3:40 mark to see how well the isolation works:

Extreme Isolation EX-29 Isolating Headphones Overview - Sweetwater Sound - YouTube
Old 17th October 2013
Gear Maniac

Thanks... they look great!
Old 17th October 2013
Gear Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by wcx08 View Post
Extreme Isolation Headphones |

I use the EX-29 series. Comfortable, portable, flat frequency response, 20Hz-20Khz. I use them for mixing sometimes too just for reference. The flat frequency response makes them OK for that.