The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
StudioLive 16.0.2
Old 16th October 2013
Gear Maniac

StudioLive 16.0.2

I have been using this as my audio interface for over a year now, and I'm wondering if my mixes are suffering because of it. I read all the time about these pricy interfaces like the Apollo just make the music sound amazing, and I'm wondering why my SL unit doesn't do this same thing...

I was under the impression that it had pretty decent converters, but my mixes always sound sort of 2-D, and kind of boxy. Is it my mixing, or is it the summing?

As far as experience, I have been mixing for a little over 3 years now, and I haven't had many complaints about the music I create for others, but I've never had anyone really blown away either. Is it worth upgrading to a nicer interface for this purpose alone? I don't use the preamps on the SL board, because I run very nice outboard pres(LA-610, Vintech x73, etc.), so pres are my least worry, but the audio conversion I feel may be holding me back from getting those results that I oh so desire...should I upgrade, or should I keep mixing and hope it improves/
Old 17th October 2013
KEL
Lives for gear

my honest opinion is not to worry about the A/D on the 1602. It's not holding you back whatsoever. The tough reality is it's probably just some things you're doing...or not doing that are holding back your mixes. The difference in A/D will not make your mixes better....especially for the money

I'm sure you've been reading posts and searching for ideas. This is a tough vocation, part painter, part electronic engineer, part luck, hard, hard work. 3 years is not a long time. patience. I've been at it 30+ years and it's still an oft elusive finish line. The good thing you have is awareness that something isn't right.

One can read to much on forums and think that a new mic or preamp will make it all right.