The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Ive 1000 euros to spend, which Mic and Preamp suits my voice? Sample included!
Old 16th October 2013
Gear Maniac

Ive 1000 euros to spend, which Mic and Preamp suits my voice? Sample included!

I currently have a Apogee Duet and a AKG Solidtube. Im thinking of replacing this with something nicer. I've got around 1000 euros to spend.

I'm thinking of buying the following stuff on the second hand market:
-Replace the Duet with a Duet 2.
-Electro Voice RE-20 (tom york and some other band I like very much uses this mic)
-Warm Sound WA12

-Will that make a 'good' vocal chain for my voice? I'm just an amateur who likes to record stuff at home.

-Do I need a preamp like the Warm Sound if I'd have a Duet 2 already?

Here is a sample of my voice recorded with a AKG Solidtube.

Old 16th October 2013
Gear Maniac

Do not let the vocal sample scare you. Im not a great singer to put it mildly. Its just to give a bit of an idea.

Thanks!
Old 17th October 2013
Lives for gear

First, the preamps in your Duet are absolutely fine and perfectly capable of making a great recording. There are other elements of your chain that would benefit more from your cash at this stage.

Do you need a preamp?
IMHO, preamps are fancy volume knobs and their impact on the sound is VERY minute. There are subtle differences, but they are not "night and day" boxes.

IMHO, the best thing you can do for a good vocal chain is a good mic and some room treatment. A reflection filter can be good, but I'd invest in some thick duvets and some mic stands to hang them on. (makeshift baffles). They'll do more for your vocal recordings than a preamp ever would!

As for mic, unfortunately this can be a big ol' can of worms, as pairing a mic to a singer is a very subjective thing. Its not about price either. Some singers sound amazing through a $2k U87, others sound better through a $250 SE2200A Mk2.