The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Simple, Quality Recording Chain
Old 15th October 2013
Lives for gear
Simple, Quality Recording Chain

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to audio recording...I currently have a Presonus Firestudio Project as my main interface. It sounds ok, but I definitely feel as though my recordings sound better. I am looking to build a very simple but quality recording setup with a quality AD/DA converter and quality preamps. I can do without any hardware processing right now as I'm using mainly in-the-box UA plugins that sounds quite nice.

I guess my question is how/where does everything fall in to place in a simple studio setup chain? How do I get my preamps to go to the AD/DA converter? How does the AD/DA converter send to my computer? (I'm using a Macbook Pro, by the way). Since I'm using a laptop, do I have to rely on Firewire? Would the alternative be having a dedicated audio card that hooks up to the AD/DA converter? If I'm sending my preamps to an external AD/DA converter, are the preamp signals/tracks still separated when they reach my DAW, or is it just a L/R stereo output?

I like that each preamp on my Presonus can be mapped to a separate track in my DAW, which makes mixing much easier. However, say I'm using external preamps with the Presonus, I'm guessing I would have to have the output from the external preamps going in to the line-level inputs 1 and 2 on the Presonus to bypass the preamps on the interface...Wouldn't this only give me a left and right channel to work with then?

I apologize for all of the somewhat vague questions...But any information would be greatly appreciated. I just feel like the quality of the Presonus has ran its course with me, and I'm ready to move on to something that has better quality. Maybe I'm wrong, but it seems like the "all-in-one" boxes never have the same attention to detail and quality as the stand-alone devices do.